Register  |  Login  |  My Profile  |  Inbox  |  My Notifications  |  Member List  |  Search  |  FAQ  |  Log Out

Smocking advice

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Sewing] >> Smocking >> Smocking advice Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Smocking advice - 2/19/2012 8:22:22 AM   
Hokie Mom

Girlfriends:

I have been smocking since 1979. I have given away lots of smocked outfits over the years. Most of them were not appreciated if the lack of a thank you is any indicator.

Now that I finally have a granddaughter to smock for, I wish I had never given away all those clothes!

I find it harder to thread the needle with floss. I find it hard to even thread the pleater needles and I wear 2X magnifier glasses.

Yesterday, I decided to make my little girl the garment called Little Lambs by Terry Jane Collins. I have made this at least three times since I had three sizes traced in the envelope. I found in my stash a nice lavender micro-check and a nice white for the insert. I don't know what the insert fabric was, but I broke two shorty pleater needles. Took that out of the pleater and prepped a lighter weight piece of fabric. Switched to the regular size needles. I had two different kinds of needles, some had a round hole for the eye, some had a long eye. I really didn't think the different eyes would matter but I had lots of skips. Took that piece out of the pleater after a few inches and switched back to the short needles that I could barely see to thread.

I do wish I had smocked for Grandmothers Hope Chest. I can remember Martha telling us to smock while we could still see-- how true!

So, my advice to all of you is smock even if you don't have a recipient in mind. When you get older, you will be glad you did.

Now I need to go and buy stronger glasses-- I remember Debbie Glenn uses 4x magnifiers. I will have to look for them.

Lisa in Webster NY
Post #: 1
RE: Smocking advice - 2/19/2012 9:11:21 AM   
Linda in NM